How do the changes in the definitions of the HVAC, hydronic, and refrigeration trades affect those who carry all three mechanical trade licenses? Do we need to purchase both the HVAC and refrigeration licenses?
The changes in these definitions may result in a reduction in the number of licenses an individual is required to purchase. Each individual holding a mechanical license will need to review the definitions and determine what trade licenses they are required to obtain.
For licensees who currently hold a HVAC and/or Refrigeration license and a Hydronics license you will be eligible for a new mechanical license for a single fee.
For licensees who currently hold a HVAC and/or Refrigeration license, you will automatically be converted to a single HVAC/R license.
The updated definitions are also posted on the board website at www.idph.state.ia.us/PMSB/Licensure
Does a individual who has a journey or master HVAC or refrigeration license still have to obtain a special electricians license pursuant to Iowa Code Chapter 103?
No, HF 392 provided an exemption. Questions regarding the Special Electrical license will need to be directed to the Electrical Board at 1-866-923-1082.
Does an individual who has a journey or master plumbing license have to obtain a special electrician license pursuant to Iowa Code Chapter 103?
The special electrician license was specifically for the HVAC or refrigeration trades. Questions regarding the Special Electrical license or any other type of electrical license will need to be directed to the Electrical Board at 1-866-923-1082.
Can a person perform volunteer work on an owner’s principal residence without having to obtain a plumbing, HVAC, refrigeration, or hydronic license?
Yes, although the volunteer is exempt from having to obtain a license please keep in mind that local jurisdictions may still have permit or inspection requirements. It is the homeowner and volunteer’s responsibility to contact the local jurisdiction prior to starting the work.
Is there a 30-day grace period for all licenses that allows renewing without penalty?
Yes, a 30 day grace period applies for any reason, including completion of CEU requirements.
- For licenses that have lapsed 31 to 60 days after the expiration of a license, a $60 late penalty will apply.
- For licenses that have lapsed 61 to 365 days after the expiration of a license, a $100.00 late penalty will apply.
- Licenses that have lapsed by more than 366 days will be required to submit current CEUs or sit for an examination.
What should I do if I have additional questions regarding the changes?
If you have additional questions regarding these impacts, or would like to obtain more information, please first visit the board website at www.idph.state.ia.us/PMSB/Licensure. All available information is posted to this website. Phone lines are very busy due to licensure renewals, and callers will often have to leave a message and may wait a day or two for a return call. A few minutes on the website can save you a significant amount of time.
In addition, please consider joining our list serve; this will be the primary way for this office to provide updates regarding these changes in addition to the website. If you would like to join, send a blank email to join-PMSB@lists.ia.gov. You will automatically be enrolled.